Canning Deliciousness…

This past weekend, I didn’t have any plans set in stone – which was a wonderful feeling. The only productive thing I did was on Sunday. I tried my hand at pickling some vegetables.

Part of our garden is doing exceptionally well – the one with the 2 rows of carrots, 2 rows of beets, 4 rows of peas, 1 1/2 rows of onion and 5 rows of beans. Yes, we have five rows of beans and they are coming out of our ears!

Sunday I spent an hour and a half picking beans before the deadly heat arose. They were every where!

Even Jet thoroughly enjoyed being in the garden too!

An hours worth filled the kitchen sink.

Our friend canned several quarts and pints of beans.

And I pickled a few pints. I thought the sink was never going to get empty!

Here is my pickling recipe:

Pickled Green Beans

10 – one pint jars
Hot water bath
4 lbs. green beans
1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes, per jar
1/2 tsp. mustard seeds, per jar
1/2 tsp. dill seed, per jar
1 whole garlic clove, per jar
5 C. vinegar
5 C. water
1/2 C. salt
1. Clean and cut beans to fit in one pint mason jars.
2. Place the red pepper flakes, mustard seeds, dill seeds, and garlic in each jar. 3. Add beans until full.
4. Bring the vinegar, water, and salt to a boil, then pour over the beans in each jar.
5. Tighten the lids and process in boiling water for 5 minutes.
This is a very easy recipe to preserve your massive amounts of green beans like we are experiencing! I can’t wait to give my family a jar to try this weekend!
Leave a Reply

