Bleeding Green…

Today marks the opening of the Minnesota State Fair. And, since I haven’t been able to attend for a couple years, my heart still bleeds green!

These next couple days, many 4-Hers throughout the state are at the fairgrounds with their outstanding livestock projects, that they put many hours into training, grooming, caring, and feeding on a regular basis.

I had the privilege to represent my county for 7 years either exhibiting cattle or sheep. It was a honor to be selected by the county fair judge for state fair lineup. Then it was a grueling task to select what animal specie you wanted to exhibit at the state fair. A task that I dreaded every year!

Set aside attending the fairs, there is so much more to 4-H. Personal Development. Leadership. Confidence. Friendship. Stewardship. Success. Diversity. Commitment. Giving. Networking. Adventures. Believing.

The foundation created through 4-H sets youth up with a wealth of encouragement to achieve any dream they desire.

If you can’t tell, even though I live afar, I hold 4-H near and dear to my heart as it was a cornerstone in what I do today. It seems every year I write a blog about 4-H but I can’t help it because it has molded me into the person I am today. I have hopes to one day give back to a program, guiding youth to their dreams.

Are you an avid social media nerd like me? You can follow Minnesota 4-H on Twitter @MN4H for live updates from the state fair!

Leave a Reply

