My Life on the Road…

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” — Mark Twain

The old saying, “my life’s a trip” would perfectly fit how my life has been. It definitely has been a trip. For the past month, there have been many changes that have occurred and it probably won’t end. The quote above has been one I have read over and over in my mind throughout my life.

I have always been one to just fly by the seat of my pants. This attitude has happened more when I attended college and after graduating. I have wondered how many times I have moved and I have honestly lost tracked. It has probably been more than the average person my age.

Like my dear sister-in-law said, “You and Dustin have had a lot changes since you been together.” My thought: I wouldn’t have it any other way!

Let me show you how my life has been a trip:

The map above shows you where I have been lately. I’ll run through the details for you.

1. August 25th we finished moving Dustin down to Mitchell. For those that don’t know, Dustin is enrolled in the South Dakota School of Culinary at Mitchell Technical Institute. What we found out would only be 9 months, turned into 2 years now. Throughout his time at school, I will blog about his experiences.

On my way home, I was finally able to stop in Brookings for the second time since I have graduated from college to see a dear friend. It was great to stop for supper and catch up with her.

2. Labor Day weekend we were in Sioux Falls and Mitchell. We attended my sister-in-law’s brother’s football game. He plays for the Augustana Vikings. It was a hot but wonderful weekend since my parents and in-law were in attendance. Plus, they won!

In addition to that weekend, I was up in Aberdeen (for a short time) to celebrate my sister-in-law and mother-in-law’s birthdays. I was able to go because I had to leave my car in Webster to get fixed. It would be a good thing to have brake lights working correctly, right?

3. To round out my busy life, I was back down to Mitchell last weekend to watch to great friends tie the knot. I had known the bride for some time through 4-H and showing cattle, then going to college, and I met the groom in college and he became a brother to me.

So you know what the means, it was one big, college reunion. I saw friends that I haven’t seen for quite some time. I had a few beers, danced all night, and laughed so hard.

Our wedding candid!

If your life has been a trip, let me know so I feel like I’m not the only one. This weekend, Dustin is going to come visit and plans to can the rest of our garden goodies. Details will come later!

Leave a Reply

