Sewing for Beginners…

What is a tradition that mothers and daughters can be seen to do together and involves a sewing machine? Answer is quilting if you didn’t get. Maybe my question was too hard. Who knows!

Recently I have been taking up sewing and have created a few pieces. I really don’t have much experience in the sewing department though. It consists of:

  1. When I was in 4-H, my mom and I thought it would be a grand idea to construct a piece of clothing for Fashion Revue. I decided to create a skort in lovely maroon/sunflower print which to remind you, my mom did not have a clue on sewing garments but it was worth a try. The best part was grandma made me a matching top hat with a giant sunflower in the middle!
  2. My mom just started learning how to sew and my last year of 4-H was the perfect opportunity to sew a quilt. Within a week, I exhibited a western-looking quilt and received Grand Champion in my division. Things I learned: quilting is not that bad and quilt shops give me anxiety.

IMG_0461

Much recently, my mom has been actively sewing and attends quilting retreats. I have joined the itch as well. Here are my projects:

IMG_0228

My first sewing project, a table runner for my mother-in-law for Christmas. My mom didn’t me to start on a quilt right away. What a thinker!  IMG_0521

Second was a Rag-Time quilt for Dustin for a Valentine’s Day gift. He really enjoys it!

IMG_0553

Third quilt was a pattern my mom suggested. It’s not quite completed, just need to sew the borders on.

IMG_0555

Finally, I’m a scarf fanatic and they can get pricey. So I thought if I learned to sew infinity scarfs, I would be saving some money. This scarf costs $6.00.

I don’t know what it is about sewing but it is fun and relaxing! I am ready for my next project…possibly the local mystery quilt competition.

Leave a Reply

